Visit the new online stores
that offer a very large assortment of religious goods!
Order a copy
of the website!
Back To Home

Back to Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions
(7 Deadly Sins)

Q. 1. How many Capital Sins are there?

A. 1. The Catholic Church teaches that there are 7 Capital Sins.

Q. 2. What are the Capital Sins?

A. 2. They are:

Capital Sin: Pride
Definition: Unrestrained appreciation of our own worth.
Their Contrary Virtue: Humility

Capital Sin: Greed
Definition: Immoderate desire for earthly goods.
Their Contrary Virtue: Liberality

Capital Sin: Lust
Definition: Desiring (craving) for impure pleasures.
Their Contrary Virtue: Chastity

Capital Sin: Anger
Definition: Inordinate desire for revenge.
Their Contrary Virtue: Meekness

Capital Sin: Gluttony
Definition: Unrestrained use of food and drink.
Their Contrary Virtue: Temperance

Capital Sin: Envy
Definition: Sorrow over another's good fortune.
Their Contrary Virtue: Brotherly Love

Capital Sin: Sloth
Definition: Laxity in keeping the Faith and the practice of virtue.
Their Contrary Virtue: Diligence

(The 7 Capital Sins are also known as "The 7 Deadly Sins." They are those sins that give rise to other sins. They were first enumerated by Pope St. Gregory the Great in "Moralia in Job.")

To submit your question, please send to our: NEW EMAIL ADDRESS
(On the subject line: Indicate "FAQ" for "Frequently Asked Questions.")

Main Index

Copyright © Catholic Doors Ministry