Visit the new online stores
that offer a very large assortment of religious goods!
Order a copy
of the website!
Back To Home

Back to Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. 1. What does it mean that there are two types of contrition? And what are those types?

A. 1. For contrition to be perfect, there must be a real interior sorrow and repentance of one's sins.

The Catholic Church teaches that there are two types of contrition, the perfect contrition and the imperfect contrition.

The perfect contrition involves sorrow out of true love for God. You are sorry for having offended God and you want to return in a state of grace to improve your relationship with God.

In the imperfect contrition, your sorrow is based on the fear of eternal punishment. You are not preoccupied with having offended God by your sinful nature; you just want to avoid going to hell.

To submit your question, please send it to our:

(On the subject line: Indicate "FAQ" for "Frequently Asked Questions.")

Main Index

Copyright © Catholic Doors Ministry