Visit the new online stores
that offer a very large assortment of religious goods!
Order a copy
of the website!
Back To Home

Back to Freqently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions
VICES, capital sins:
(Also known as deadly sins.)

Q. 1 What is a vice?

A. 1 "Sin creates a proclivity (a natural tendency of inclination) to sin; it engenders vice by repetition of the same acts. This results in perverse inclinations which cloud conscience and corrupt the concrete judgment of good and evil. Thus sin tends to reproduce itself and reinforce itself, but it cannot destroy the moral sense at its root." (C.C.C. # 1865)

"Vices can be classified according to the virtues they oppose, or also be linked to the capital sins which Christian experience has distinguished, following St. John Cassian and St. Gregory the Great. They are called "capital" because they engender other sins, other vices." [St. Gregory the Great, Moralia in Job, 31, 45; PL. 76, 621A] (C.C.C. # 1866)

Q. 2 How many vices are there?

A. 2 There are 7 vices.

Q. 3 What are the 7 vices?

A. 3 They are,

Pride - (synonym to arrogance),
Avarice - (synonym to covetousness),
Envy - (synonym to jealousy of the possesions of others),
Wrath - (synonym to anger),
Lust - (synonym to impurity),
Gluttony - (synonym to lack of self-control),
Sloth - (synonym to laziness).

Q. 4 What virtues oppose vices?

A. 4 They are as follows,

Pride opposes humility,
Avarice opposes generosity,
Envy opposes charity,
Wrath opposes meekness,
Lust opposes chastity,
Gluttony opposes temperance,
Sloth opposes perseverance.

To submit your question, please send it to our:

(On the subject line: Indicate "FAQ" for "Frequently Asked Questions.")

Main Index

Copyright © Catholic Doors Ministry