Visit the new online stores
that offer a very large assortment of religious goods!
Order a copy
of the website!
Back To Home

Back to Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions
regarding the

Q. 1. How many kinds of indulgences does the Catholic Church give to the faithful?

A. 1. According to the Catechism of Pius X, there are 2 kinds of indulgences, plenary and partial.

# 129 "A plenary Indulgence is that by which the whole temporal punishment due to our sins is remitted. Hence, if one were to die after having gained such an Indulgence, he would go straight to Heaven, being, as he is, perfectly exempt from the pains of Purgatory."

# 130 "A partial Indulgence is that by which is remitted only a part of the temporal punishment due to our sins."

A universal indulgence is granted anywhere in the world while a local indulgence applies to only a specific place or area.

A perpetual indulgence is one that may be gained at any time while a temporary indulgence only is available for certain times, for example, like certain indulgences for the Holy Souls in November.

There are conditions attached to the obtaining of indulgences:

The conditions for an indulgence are as follows:

A. The person must be in the state of grace by the completion of the indulgence.
B. The person must also want to gain the indulgence.

The conditions for plenary indulgences are:

The above conditions as well as the following...
A. One is free from all attachment from sin, even venial sins.
B. One receives the Sacraments of Penance and the Eucharist (Within 7 days of the indulgence).
C. One prays for the intentions of the Pope (Apostles Creed, 1 Our Father, and any other prayers).

To submit your question, please send it to our:

(On the subject line: Indicate "FAQ" for "Frequently Asked Questions.")

Main Index

Copyright © Catholic Doors Ministry