Visit the new online stores
that offer a very large assortment of religious goods!
Order a copy
of the website!
Back To Home

Back to Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions
The Three Titles
Of The Eucharist.

Q. 1. I heard that the Eucharist is described 3 ways, or some say It has 3 Titles. Can you list those Titles and briefly explain them?

A. 1. In indeed, the Holy Eucharist is identified three ways. These are:

- It is called the Eucharist "because it is an action of thanksgiving to God. (C.C.C. # 1328)

- It is called "the Breaking of Bread" because Jesus used this rite at the Last Supper. (C.C.C. # 1329)

- It is called "the memorial of the Lord's passion and resurrection... the Holy Sacrifice" because it makes present the one sacrifice of Christ the Saviour and includes the Church's offering. (C.C.C. # 1330)

[Note: "C.C.C." means the "Catechism of the Catholic Church".]

To submit your question, please send it to our:

(On the subject line: Indicate "FAQ" for "Frequently Asked Questions.")

Main Index

Copyright © Catholic Doors Ministry