Visit the new online stores
that offer a very large assortment of religious goods!
Order a copy
of the website!
Back To Home

Back to Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. 1. What kind of sin is considered a mortal sin?

A. 1. The Catholic Church does not have a list of mortal (grave) sins as such. Most Catholics have come to believe that the 7 deadly sins or capital vices that were laid down in the 6th century by Pope Gregory the Great do qualify as mortal sins. This belief is based on the fact that these sins/vices are "grave violations of the Ten Commandments and the Beatitudes."

Those sins are:

1. lust,
2. gluttony,
3. avarice,
4. sloth,
5. anger,
6. envy and,
7. pride.

(Click HERE for more details on the 7 deadly sins.)

In March, 2008, during an interview, Bishop Gianfranco Girotti gave his view of modern sins that are viewed as "mortal sins." These sins are:

1. polluting,
2. genetic engineering,
3. being obscenely rich,
4. drug dealing,
5. abortion,
6. pedophilia, and
7. social injustice.

As is frequently done by the media, the comments of Bishop Gianfranco Girotti were distorted and his views were presented as the new position of the Vatican on the matter of mortal sins. Such was not the case. This deception is a perfect example of how reporters commit mortal sins by constantly distorting the truth in order to damage the Catholic Church by creating confusion among its members. "Mortal sin destroys charity in the heart of man by a grave violation of God's law; it turns man away from God, who is his ultimate end and his beatitude, by preferring an inferior good to him." (Catechism of the Catholic Church # 1855)

(Click HERE for more details on mortal sins versus venial sins.)

The Holy Bible contains a number of passages that provide a list of sins that deprive the soul from inheriting the Kingdom of God if it does not confess its sins through the Sacrament of Confession before death. (1 Cor. 6:9-10; Gal. 1:8; Eph. 5:5; Heb. 12:16; Rev. 22:15)

(Click HERE to read those Bible passages.)

For a sin to be mortal, three conditions must exist at the same time.

1. It must be of a grave matter;
2. It must be committed with full knowledge that it is a mortal sin;
3. It must be committed with full consent. [Full consent means to do it "voluntarily."] (C.C.C. # 1857)

(Click HERE for more details on those three conditions.)

There are some who believe that all sins are equal in the eyes of God, that there is no such thing as a venial or a mortal sin. How wrong they are! The Holy Bible teaches otherwise. "If you see your brother or sister committing what is not a mortal sin, you will ask, and God will give life to such a one, to those whose sin is not mortal. There is sin that is mortal; I do not say that you should pray about that. All wrongdoing is sin, but there is sin that is not mortal." [1 Jn. 5:16-17]

For more information about sin, CLICK on the following index webpage and go down to SIN

To submit your question, please send it to our:

(On the subject line: Indicate "FAQ" for "Frequently Asked Questions.")

Main Index

Copyright © Catholic Doors Ministry