Visit the new online stores
that offer a very large assortment of religious goods!
Order a copy
of the website!
Back To Home

Back to Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. 1. What is the Catholic Funeral Rites?

A. 1. There are three parts to the Catholic Funeral Rites. They are:

the Vigil Service (Wake),

the Funeral Liturgy, and

the Rite of Committal (Burial or Interment).

The Vigil and the Funeral Mass usually take place immediately after one's death, with or without the body (when the body was donated to science).

If the body was donated to science, the Burial Rite takes place at a later date. The remains are given a Christian burial. If cremated, the remains are to be buried or entombed whole and intact with a suitable memorial marker.

To submit your question, please send to our: NEW EMAIL ADDRESS
(On the subject line: Indicate "FAQ" for "Frequently Asked Questions.")

Main Index

Copyright © Catholic Doors Ministry